logo hva international

Centre for Applied Explore on Business and Economics

AUAS Explore Award

Recognising excellence in applied research

The AUAS Explore Award is an annual competition in which students, lecturers and researchers at the AUAS present their research projects at pitch length (4 minutes maximum). A qualified panel with experts from AUAS Amsterdam partners judges each submission for solidity of approach, relevance to society or professional practice, relevance to the curriculum and for presentation skills.

First rounds

One lecturer and one student from each faculty at the AUAS may enter the annual finals. To select the best candidates, CAREM organises a preliminary round for the entire Faculty of Economics and Management. From here, the winners move on to the University semifinals.

Faculty winners

Winners of recent preliminaries at the Faculty of Economics & Management have been:

  • 2015: Marion Smit ( Moral courage in finance)
  • 2014: Peter Horsselenberg & Michiel de Nooij ( Dam to Dam Run) en Marco Koevoets ( Credit unions as a new source of finance for SMEs)
  • 2013: Luca Lopes ( Social innovation in health care: a case study) and Lize Braspenning ( From Like to loyalty)
  • 2012: Michel Knoppel ( International financial contagion. Winner audience favourite in AUAS Explore Award finals)
  • 2011: Lori DiVito ( Internationalization)
  • 2010: Willem Landman (2nd in AUAS Explore Award finals)